Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument describes how reverting back to Paleo diets can help to cure many diseases. It has been said that ingesting animal body components can lead to healing of the same human components. However, the author of this argument predicates their argument on several unstated assumptions which if false can trounce the validity of the argument and have an impact on the cogency of the argument.

It has been said that there is a strong "anecdotal" evidence that consuming bone broth leads to fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don't. What is this evidence based on? Who is the authority that takes responsibility for the validity of this evidence? The evidence is said to be anecdotal which in fact plays a role to deter its veritableness.This evidence, for example, could've been purported for other ulterior motives such as by poultry farmers to increase their business. There is no trust worthy source of this information and the information seems purely apocryphal. Were this evidence to have a credible source or a scientific authority or organization behind it, it could've been considered to have the said effects.

Ingesting animal components directly could have many side effects for the body. Each animal has certain body defense mechanisms to prevent itself against possible predators. Even after hours of cooking there is a possiblity that some microorganisms or pathogens might be lurking in the bone broth that could be detrimental to the health of the consumer. For example, frogs such as the Poison Dart frog are highly venomous and eating any of its body parts could pose a serious health risk to the consumer and might even prove to be fatal. Had the passage also listed the health risks involved in ingesting these components other than the predisposed benefits, it could help to bolster the argument's validity.

There seems no possible connection between the diet of early hominids and their understanding of human physiology. With medical research being performed by top researchers and doctors around the world at such great pace there is only little account for the hominids to know something that research worth centuries has not been able to account for. It could be the case that the early hominids found consuming animal components as the most approachable source of energy and hadn't been exposed to agriculture to grow crops and sustain themselves. This could be the reason they had to resort to the diet they followed. Besides, such a diet could prove useful for the kind of work they did compared to the work modern day humans do. Therefore, there is no evidence that as a result of their diet the hominids understood aspects of physiology better than modern humans.

The argument refers to consumption of animals but fails to account for what kind of animals. Are they aquatic animals? Are they amphibians? Do they refer to reptiles such as snakes and lizzards? There is an opaqueness regarding the species of animals that should be consumed to produced the said effects. Consuming each kind of animal has its own benefits and adversities. Following the prompt a person could consume a lethal animal and instead of ameliorating their condition could in turn end up further making it worse. Therefore, had the argument specified the kind of animals this argument refers for producing its effects, it could've strengthened its claim.

Thus, it can be seen that the argument is not cogent and relies on several unstated assumptions like a baseless evidence and side effects of the diet.