Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt juxtaposes two relative characteristics that a leader must possess. On one hand where moral judgement is an important aspect to discern the right from the wrong, of considerable importance is also that a leader is able to maintain his stance amongst his peers. A leader however should never compromise on his moral ability just for the sake of maintaining his venerance among the people who follow him.

A leader is, born from the crowds and is thought to represent the ideology of the crowds that choose them. It is only germane that the leader puts the quality that caused him to be elected or chosen - his judgement at the forefront. For example, Mahatma Gandhi, who was the forerunner in India's struggle for freedom was hugely respected because of his ideologies and moral judgement. His ideologies of non-violence and peace were what made him known over the globe. Thus, it is only makes it apt for a leader to not compensate on the ideals and thoughts that predicated towards his being elected as a leader.

The long-term goal of leading their devotees towards their consummate goal of freedom, wishes or a revolt, for that matter, should be the ideal belief of a leader. An ideal leader should be able to take a jab to his respect, if for an imminent decision, but if the decision works out for the higher interests and eventually leads to the desired outcome then such an act leads to a greater respect amongst his peers. A CEO of a company might take an unorthodox route to save his floundering company, which might be scorned upon by his peers, but if in eventuality the decision benefits the company it would command greater respects by his subordinates. Therefore, it is righteous for a leader to have a quality to make a moral judgement, more than worrying about maintaining the respect of their colleagues.

A valid point that acts in favor of the statement, would be that a leader might overlook the morality of a judgement in some cases to maintain his position among his followers. This is appropriate in some cases where a support from the masses is more important than the implications of the actions on part of the leader. Thus, a leader may sometimes concede to his moral judgement to maintain his position.

As a conclusion, it can be seen that a leader is elected because of his ability to make a sound judgement and he should keep the benefit of his followers at the top priority which make moral judgement a more important characteristic than maintaining respect among peers.