Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The argument say's that paleo diets are becoming increasingly popular because our human ancestors used to eat that way and this diet helped them. This argument is flawed for various reasons.

Firstly, the argument assumes that it's just the diet which used to keep our ancestors healthy, there could be so many other factors such as physical activity by doing their own chores, preparing their own food, walking miles to get things, etc., But most of the population nowadays, aren't even doing their own chores and with all the tecnological advancements , people aren't even walking as they can even get their food delivered to their home. And assuming that just changing the diet pattern will make us all healthy is moot. I agree it helps our health to a certain level but not to an extent the arument proposes.

And the argument also states that there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who dont. So, how did they come to such a conclusion? In how many people have they observed that strong anecdotal evidence? If the sample size of number of people observed is very less, it cannot be made as statement that its true for everyone.

The argument finally comes to a conclusion that ancient humans knew something we don't so if we follow them we can also cure many chronic illnesses. we cannot conclude that just by emulating the way they ate we can cure illnesses, there must be so many other things the ancient humans have done in order to be healthy.

Also, the things which worked for people 10's or 100's of years ago may not work for the current generation as there are many factors to be considered like the atmosphere then and now, the region these ancient humans used to live and the region of the people following this diet now and may more factors such as other activities carried out by those people then and activites carried out by people now.

Thus, if all the above assumptions were made a bit more clear by explaining how they are making such assumptions, there is a chance that the argument might be true , till then , this argument remains flawed.