Parents, if you need a summer camp for your children look no further than Federville Farms. In a recent survey, Federville Farms ranked first in both overall camper satisfaction and in food quality, and second in the variety of outdoor activities. Federville Farms has been family owned and operated for over forty years, so you have nothing to worry about when it comes to your child's safety, and it employs more Red Cross certified lifeguards than any other camp in the state. If you seek the best camp experience for your children, Federville Farms is the best choice you can make.

Discuss how well reasoned

The author of the article argues that Parents who are looking for a summer camp for their children's shout opt for Federville Farms. To support his argument the author provides the evidence by citing the results of the survey conducted in which the Federville Farms was ranked first in both overall camp satisfaction and in food quality , and second in the variety of outdoor activities .Furthermore the author also adds that the farm is owned and operated by the family for 40 years. The author further goes on to add the lifeguards present in the farm . Though the underlying issue has merit because of a lack of evidence , weak assumptions and vague language the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. Some of the flaws in the authors argument are as follows.

Firstly , the author fails to state the sample size of the survey in which the Federville farms ranked first and second for its facilities. The author also fails to state that when the survey had taken place . A recent survey can also mean that the survey was conducted two days ago or also it can be two years ago . If it is a two years ago survey then the record on today's date can be different . The farm conditions must have changed drastically in two years . For example if the environment conditions for the stay were good two years ago and now there are factories come up in the vicinity of the farm , so this may not be a good indication as the air may be polluted and not recommended for the children.

Secondly , the author links the child's safety with family owned and 40 year operated Federville farm . The author fails by not giving any statistics showing that the ratio of accidents caused to the total number of children visited . The author makes a false assumption . For example if the data was collected and it showed the ratio to be greater then this would weaken the authors claim significantly .

Thirdly , The author also claims that the farm employs more Red Cross certified lifeguards than any other camp in the state . The author again fails to state the reason behind using more Red Cross certified lifeguards than any other camps .

For example if the reason behind having more red cross lifeguards is the danger faced by the children who have been to the farm for the summer camp . This reason would surely weaken the claim of the author.

Finally , even if one considers that the assumptions stated are valid , the argument remains flawed because author has stated no information about the other parameters that are required to rate a farm for its features . The author ahead doesn't even talk about the child safety parameter and the ranking for the parameter in his argument . The author also fails by not using any statistics to prove his claim . Furthermore the author in the last sentence states that if the parents want to seek the best experience for their children , Federvillie farms is the best choice . By saying this the author neglects that the data provided by him is so minimal that it may prove difficult for the parents to take a final decision.

In conclusion , the author presents an interesting but flawed argument . Had the author presented some statistics involving the points the author has made and the additional information mentioned above , the argument would have been persuasive . As it stands however the author's argument is too weak to be true . Hence I remain unconvinced.