A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Here author is saying that a pet food company recalled 4 million pound packet of pet food and perform some test on it, and on the basis of that test company is trying to state that the pet food does not contain any other chemical that are harmful.At the first sight author's argument may sounds good but it contain some major loop holes.

The very first thing i found it unclear is that, here author is not clearly mentioning the number of samples on which the test was performed.It may be possible that the test was done only on few samples and that sample does not contain any harmful chemical.

Here author also make assumption that all the chemical found in a samples was not harmful.This assumption is somewhat uncertain because it is also possible that chemical is not harmful but the reaction of that chemical with some other chemical present in a pet food may produce some other chemical and this chemical may be harmful.

Third loop hole that i found in the argument is that, author is not clearly saying that weather the test was performed by company itself or it was performed by some other third party firm. If the test were performed by company itself then it may be biased so it may not produce the desire result.

In the conclusion we can say that author is making a good argument about the company was not responsible for the result of some bad effects on the pets who consumed the food, But here author fails to fortify his argument by not providing or not considering some other factors other than the approved chemicals can be also responsible for this.