Pirouettes Ballet School is the clear choice for any child. Of all the dance schools in Elmtown, Pirouettes has the most intensive program, and our teachers have danced in the most prestigious ballet companies all over the world. Many of our students have gone on to become professional dancers with top dance companies.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation states that any child wishing to attend a dance school in Elmtown should pick Pirouettes Ballet School. A number of reasons are provided relating to why Pirouettes is the best dance school in Elmtown, however, these reasons stir up a number of questions that need to addressed in order for the recommendation to be properly evaluated.

One of the reasons provided for why Pirouettes would be a better choice compared to other dance schools is it's intensive program, which is stated to be more intensive than any of the other schools in Elmtown. A problem with this statement is that it leaves the question of what exactly the word intensive implies. "Intensive" is a descriptor that can be subjectively interpreted. For example, one dancer might call his 30-minute hip-hop routine intensive while another dancer might think that the routine is barely intensive at all. As such, the recommendation should further explain what exactly Pirouettes' "intensive" program entails, as well as how it differs from other local programs, so that prospective students and their parents can judge the "intensity" of the program for themselves.

The recommendation also states that Pirouettes' teachers have had experiences dancing in "prestigious" ballet companies. The word "prestigious" contains an air of subjectivity and as such, does not provide much information to prospective students regarding the ability of the school's teachers. Other dance schools in Elmtown could have teachers that have had decades of experience teaching dance and would thus make these schools better options compared to Pirouettes, which only states it's teachers have danced in "prestigious ballet companies". Thus, another question that needs to be answered is regarding the qualifications of Pirouettes' dance teachers. The recommendation should include specific ballet companies that Pirouettes' teachers have danced in, in addition to the number of years that they have danced, and have taught dance. This additional information will help new students and parents decide if the teachers at Pirouettes are qualified enough to teach dance.

The final part of the recommendation states that many of Pirouette's students went on to become professional dancers at top dance companies. This statement is void of useful information that could help a potential new student make a decision. First of all, the word "many" does not describe how many of Pirouette's students went on to become successful. Secondly, the word "top" is again a subjective word that doesn't provide specific information. Thus, in order for prospective students to learn about the outcomes of other students who attended Pirouettes, the recommendation should include statistical information on how many students went on to become successful professional dancers. Additionally, the names of the "top" dance companies should also be listed out so that there is no ambiguity regarding where previous students went on to dance.

In conclusions, there a number of additions that can be made to the recommendation in order for prospective students to make an evaluation of Pirouette’s Ballet School.