Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able  to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Accessible sources of information, like mass media and the internet have indeed led to people having shorter attention spans due to new information being readily available at any given moment. However, the positive side of the issue cannot be ignored- people have the ability to find information and learn about the world in a much easier and quicker way than ever before.

Prior to a world in which mass media and the internet were readily available to most people, information and knowledge were restricted to specific locations. For example, if a person wanted to learn about molecular biology in the 19th century, they would have needed to find a library that contained information on that subject, or join a university. Now, with a few words typed into an online search engine, information on molecular biology can appear instantly on anyone's personal electronic device, be it a laptop, tablet, or smartphone.

Furthermore, forms of mass media like the newspaper and television have also contributed to the accessibility of information. News stories as well as informational articles on specific topics printed in newspapers allow the public to educate themselves on important topics. As such, editors of newspapers do the important work of sourcing various articles for the public and everything of importance for the day can be found on that one newspaper.

Although newspapers, as well as news and information on the internet, are easily accessible to people without them having to do much work for it, there is a certain problem that arises which deals with bias. A person who only reads one newspaper their whole life is undoubtedly reading biased news- after all, that newspaper only publishes what its editors decide to include. As such, a person reading the newspaper might believe they are reading important news, but they are only reading what is important to that newspaper company.

Despite some drawbacks of mass media and the internet, overall, the human species has been able to benefit greatly through the vast information content readily available to them through mass media and the internet.