Pirouettes Ballet School is the clear choice for any child. Of all the dance schools in Elmtown, Pirouettes has the most intensive program, and our teachers have danced in the most prestigious ballet companies all over the world. Many of our students have gone on to become professional dancers with top dance companies.

This promotional passage for the Pirouettes Ballet School posits that because the school employs world-renowned dancers and has a history of producing skilled dancers, it will be the perfect choice for any child. The passage operates on multiple unspoken assumptions and the writer has several questions to answer before anyone should take the recommendation seriously.

The first questionable claim the arguer makes is that the Pirouettes Ballet School is the "clear choice for any child." To suggest that the school is the right fit for any child is extraordinarily bold. Perhaps a child is already busy with soccer, basketball, and math competitions but she want to try out dancing just to see what it is like. It hardly seems that the "most intensive program" is the correct choice for that child. Or perhaps a teenager has grown tired of his childhood sports and wants to try a dance class for the first time. Putting him in a class of dancer supposedly destained for positions at top dance companies is unwise. To claim the Pirouettes Ballet School is unparalleled in its rigor, and also that it is the perfect fit for every child is insupportable and hurts the credibility of the argument as a whole.

Another questionable assumption the argument makes is that those world-renowned dancers will be equally skilled teachers. The arguer offers no reason as to why this is true and there is plenty of evidence from other sports that suggests the opposite. If one were to look up the most successful NBA coaches they would find a paucity of past All Stars. Rather, they would see that many of the most talented coaches were role players or in some cases supporting stars. Take, for example, Steve Kerr who was unquestionably good in his prime but was not at the top of the league in the way he is as a coach. The same is true for soccer, baseball, and many other sports; it entirely is feasible that this trend holds in dance.

The last piece of evidence that argument uses also requires some clarification. Specifically, how long had those dancers who went on to professional roles danced with Pirouettes Ballet School? If the school had taken them in at two or three years old and built them from the ground up into world-class dancers, then this part of the argument holds water and is worth considering. But there is no guarantee this is the case. It is possible that the Pirouettes Ballet School's reputation as a rigorous program attracted older dancers who were already talented. Perhaps the school intensively markets a high-level dance program for talented 16 to 18 year olds. If this were the case, skilled teenagers would pour in from surrounding areas to be trained for only two years before becoming professionals. Pirouettes Ballet School could then claim credit for these student's success even though a different academy trained them for most of their lives.

Before this recommendation and argument has any teeth, its writer must expand on several pieces of evidence. Namely, are the school's teacher's as talented in instruction as they are in dance and for how long did they train the students who became professionals? Even if both of these questions are answered in favor of the Pirouettes Ballet School, the arguer's claim that the school is the correct choice for "any" child is unfounded and over extended.