Police Visibility - Smithville changes in procedures, more funds, more officers, patrol on foot not cars, expected to lower crime rate.

The author of the above passage makes a very bold claim, stating that the measures he states are bound to reduce the crime rate in the cities and make the citizens feel safer. The mentioned steps are simply generic methods to increase the visibility of the police force, and the author presents absolutely no evidence to back the fact that they may lead to significant reduction in criminal activities. There are several gaps in the arguements that need to filled with concrete evidence to back the conclusion made.

Firstly, the author makes an inherent assumption of the fact that police visibility is bound to increase with an increase in the number of officers. This is not necessarily true because there is no evidence to back the same. In fact depending upon the type of officers hired, the number of visible or patrol officers may not even change because most of the newly hired officers may have a desk job.

Furthermore, the author states that allocating more funds to the police for overtime will significantly improve the situation without stating the the rationale behind such a move. Some statistical and financial evidence stating that allocating more budgets to overtime of the task force leads to a secure society would significantly strengthen the author's arguement. With no such proof, the author does not even fully provide an insight into whether less funds are actually the issue or not. The current budget and it's use on the same aspect is not stated. Moreover, working overtime may even have an adverse effect on the current and newly employed police officers and may even lead to lessening in the productivity in general.

Patroling on foot rather than on patrol cars is considered by the author as another contributing factor to lessening the crime rate of Smithville. With no insight into the type and nature of crimes, assuming that police officers are more visible and active on foot is wrong. It could be that the current situation may have a significantly high number of car thefts or high speed chases, making police on foot a step behind the criminals.

The author does not give insight into what would make the citizens feel safer and have more trust on the police force. He simply assumes that an increase in visibilty will do the trick, whereas the citizens may be concerned about completely different issues of the police - like the lethargic attitude of the officers or simply the lack of skill. A survey of the opinions of the general public would surely have bridged the gap in his arguements and provided concrete backing to the author's claims.

Hence, the author needs more facts and figures to support the bold claims he makes. The public should not blindly believe whatever is written in the above mentioned document as the situation may or may not improve.