The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducatio

In order to increase the application and enrollment, the president of Grove College make a suggestion that they should abandon the tradition of all=female education and admit male students as some others all-female colleges have done. And the director of the aluminae association dispute that the tradition is so essential to identify the college, and cites two surveys of some students and aluminae to support his stance. However, both the suggestion and the disputing view remain unpersuasive due to some implicit qustions.

Fisrtly, the two surveys cited by the director are too vague in the details to be valid.

Taking the first survey on the incoming students' opinions as example, it is suspicious to only ask those students who haven't started their life in the college, while ignoring those in higher grades that might give a different answer. Besides, it's natural to believe those incoming students chose Grove College for the tradition, but we can't exclude the possibility that more prospective students avoid the college for the tradition. In these cases, a survey only involve the incoming students does not make sense.

As for the second survey, the same question remains that whether the opinion of those respondents are representative or not. After all, it is told only a majority of respondents, not of all alumnae, are objecting the plan. Perhaps even more proponent of the president have no chance to make a respondence due to the deliberate selection of survey sample. If that is the case, the conclusion of the survey are ramshackle. And another crucial question of the survey is that whether the opinion of these aluminae is important or helpful to the development of the college. Maybe the opinions of falculty members, teachers and parents who might or might not be willing to send their children to the college are also important.

All these quesions of the two surveys render the director's objection to the recommendation weak and unpersuasive. But on the other hand, the president is too hasty or incogent to make the recommendation because of a lack of more information other than that of these colleges mentioned. There might be other indespensible factors of the success in breaking with the all-female tradition, such as the widespread reports in newspapers and TV that their spurning the entrenched tradition, which make these colleges even more famous and welcome. Or perhaps their presidents decided to provide more scholarship available to counter the risk of their change of course. We don't know whether the Grove College can share the same advantages with those precursors. And even if that is true, we can't still believe without reservation that the co-educational mode will increase the application and enrollment, because an increase in applications dosen't amount to an increase in enrollment. These questions are indeed tricky to deal with.

Simply from the information given in the argument, we have to raise a lot of questions regarding to the design of the two surveys, the comparability between the Grove College and the colleges mentioned and the risk of accepting the recommendation.