Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

Those anthropologists favoring interview-centered method in the future research may be directly influenced by the conclusion that Dr. Karp have made. However, the conclusion still remains questionable on several aspects.

Firstly, it might not be reasonable for Dr. Karp to compare with a conclusion drawn 20 years ago. In such a long time, the child-rearing traditions might have altered gradually and thus, Dr. Karp and Dr. Field, though conducting their research in different method, could both be impeccable. So, the first key question to be answered for evaluating the recommendation is that over the time gap of the two surveys, whether the child-rearing practices in Tertia island changed. If it has changed, the difference between results of the two research cannot be thought as error of research method. Thus, no conclusion about the priority of any method can be drawn.

The second crucial question is whether the locations where Dr. Karp and Dr. Field did their research matters. For example, would the recommendation still valid if Dr. Karp interviewed kids on the nearby islands of island Tertia, especially when those kids have been reared in various traditions? If yes, we might be able to believe future research should use interview-centered method.

The third matter is about the interview questions Dr. Karp used. According to Dr. Karp's direct results about the time kids spent talking about adults, Dr. Karp draw a conclusion on kids-rearing practices. But are the results a decisive index of child-rearing practice? If they are indeed relavent to some degree, the conclusion of Dr. Karp can be called valid.

Before the questions get answered, it's rational to be doubtful about the conclusion.