The problem of poor teacher performance that has plagued the state's public school systems is bound to become a good deal less serious in the future. The state has initiated comprehensive guidelines that oblige teachers to complete a number of required credits in education and educational psychology at the graduate level before being certified

The argument that improved academic training, in the form of required credits in

education and psychology, will substantially alleviate the problem of poorly

performing teachers may seem logical at first glance. However, the author relies

on unsupported assumptions about what kind of development teachers need and

mechanisms for replacing poor teachers with newly certified teachers. Therefore,

the argument is fundamentally flawed and unconvincing.

First, the writer assumes that the required courses will produce better teachers.

In fact, the courses might be entirely irrelevant to the teachers’ failings. Suppose,

for example, that the main problem lies in cultural and linguistic misunderstandings

between teachers and students; graduate-level courses that do not address

these issues would be of little use in bridging these gaps and improving educational

outcomes. Furthermore, the writer assumes that poorly performing teachers

have not already taken these courses. If the state's teachers have already

undergone such training but still fail to serve their students, then requiring them

to take the classes again is unlikely to address the problem. In fact, the writer

establishes no correlation between the teachers' classroom performance and

their academic coursework.

Additionally, the writer provides no evidence that poorly performing teachers who

are already certified will either stop teaching or will undergo additional training. In

its current form, the argument implies that only teachers seeking certification,

who may or may not be teachers already in the system, will receive the specified

training. Furthermore, the author fails to establish a link between becoming

certified and actually being hired in the public school system. If school systems

have budget shortfalls and institute a hiring freeze, then newly certified teachers

may not enter classrooms for quite some time. Unless there is a way to transition

poor teachers out of the classroom and ensure teachers with proper training are

soon hired, the bright future the writer envisions may be decades away.

The notion that the specified coursework will create better teachers would be

strengthened by evidence that the training will address barriers to educating

students. For example, if a state with similar demographics had implemented

similar guidelines and then seen either improved learning as measured by

standardized tests or improved teaching as documented by teacher observations,

then one could conclude with more confidence that the guidelines should be

implemented in this state. Also, the author would be considerably more persuasive

if she showed that a plan is in place to either require all teachers to gain this

certification or terminate poor performers without the certification. The author

should also demonstrate that the public schools have the budgets to hire newly

certified teachers so they can begin to have an effect on students.

In conclusion, the writer is not necessarily mistaken in stating that the state’s

comprehensive guidelines will lead to improvement in educational outcomes in

public schools. After all, the additional training would probably not adversely

affect classroom performance. However, to support the assertion that the

guidelines will effectively solve the state’s problem, the writer must first define

the scope of the problem more clearly and submit more conclusive evidence that

the new requirements will, in fact, improve overall teaching performance. Without

such evidence, stakeholders in the public school system, including parents,

administrators, and legislators, should be skeptical that education will improve

anytime soon.