Tusk University should build a new recreational facility, both

to attract new students and to better serve the needs of our

current student body. Tusk projects that enrollment will

double over the next 10 years, based on current trends. The

new student body is expected to reflect a much higher

percentage of commuter students than we currently enroll.

This will make the existing facilities inadequate. Moreover, the

cost of health and recreation club membership in our

community has increased rapidly in recent years. Thus,

students will find it much more advantageous to make use of

the facilities on campus. Finally, an attractive new recreation

center would make prospective students, especially athletically

gifted ones, more likely to enroll at Tusk.

The memo detailing the need for a new recreational facility at Tusk university seems reasonable at first glance. But the memo mentions no critical data and evidence to support this recommendation. Like it does mention the doubled number of new enrollments but does not mention of number of graduating students. It does not mention any survey data showing if students are finding current facilities inadequate. It does mention that cost of others clubs has increased but does not cite any survey in which students expressed their difficulty in enrolling these clubs as result of high costs. Finally the memo does not cite any good correlation between new recreational activities and increased number athletically gifted students in any similar universities in the past.

The university mentions that number of new enrollments will be doubled. But there is no mention that after accounting for number graduating students this new numbers of student enrollement would be a burden on already available recreational facilites. If it seems to be a problem only then can the recommendation of new facility must be deemed reasonable.

In addition, the writer if this prompt must cite a survey which shows students expressing their difficulties with the existing facilties. The writer can also cite any complaints or requests lodged by students for a new facility due to the inadequacy of the old ones. Only after refering to these survey or complaints can the recommendation be considered seriously. The passage also does not cite any similar survey or set of complaints by students expressing their difficulties with the increasing costs of health and recreational faciltites. If not considered and this new facility proves to be unwanted, the funds allocated would go to waste. Also, any correlation between between higher percentage of commuter students and increased number of students who take part in recereational activities is not mentioned. It is possible that even after having commuted to campus, students might prefer to taking part recreational activities. So if there seems be a strong correlation in the concerned data can the recommendation for a new facility must be considered, otherwise the facility would only prove to be redundant.

Finally the passage also does not cite any date in similar schools correlating the increase in number of recreastional facilities and increase in number of athletically gifted students. I such data exits and there seems to be strong correlation then the concerned university offcials must consider this constructing this new facilty more seriously. Otherwise, the new facility can only prove to be a burden on university funds.

In conclusion, in the absence of thes above stated data and evidences the concerned stakeholders like the university officials, students must be skeptical of the recommendation to build a new recreational facility in the Tusk university campus.