Prompt: “The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Assignment: Discuss how well-reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion, be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

While the author may have a legitimate concern towards the influx of illegal immigrants and the resultant security threat towards the nation, the argument placed forth has a lack of solid data and evidence which makes the author's argument difficult to evaluate. The argument also fails to mention viable options to strengthen the border along with their financial effectiveness during implementation and fails to account for any extraneous factors which may be at play exacerbating this issue. At the same time, the author fails to account for the ways in which the economy and national identity are endangered, which affects the weight of the argument. This lack of underlying information and solid data, along with assumptions which are rather weak, unconvincing and have several flaws in them, bring about a demand for a closer, more detailed examination.

Firstly, although the author has mentioned that the borders need to be strengthened, there is no inclusion of the different ways by which the same can be implemented. There have been steps which are provided in the argument which claim to improve the border security. Additionally, no mention of financial expenses involved in such an undertaking has been provided. Perhaps, the country in question has much more serious issues at hand and could instead invest the proposed sum of money towards the eradication fo those issues. Without a clear description of the steps to improve security and the expenses, it difficult to make any kind of assumptions and hence the author's argument fails to deliver.

Perhaps the borders are already secure enough and the issue of illegal immigration could be a result of lax enforcing of government-issued visas. It is highly plausible that the immigrants could have entered the country through legal means by acquiring a visa and have exceeded the length of their designated stay, thus becoming an illegal immigrant. Hence, the author must analyze all of the different cases which bring about this issue and pinpointing the issue to be a result of weak borders is not the only way to go.

Furthermore, another glaring assumption that the author readily makes is that the illegal immigrants pose a threat to the economy and identity of the nation without citing reasons for the same. It can also be possible that the immigrants are actually contributing to the economy of the nation by being employed, stimulating the economy and hence paying their taxes. For example, if the country consists of a large ageing population and a young strong workforce is needed to rejuvenate the economy, the immigrants shall actually help add to the workforce and hence strengthen the economy. Hence, the author's argument towards the economy getting disrupted is flawed.

Additionally, the author also makes a reference to efforts to return the immigrants to their country of origin but fails to account for the different issues and their costs with the same. Firstly, when the illegal immigrant has been apprehended, what is the suitable method to ascertain his nationality? Secondly, once the immigrant's country of origin may have been ascertained, what are the different ways by which the immigrant can be deported back and what are the accompanying costs involved? It can be plausible that the costs involved in deporting the immigrant far exceed the benefits of having him as a useful employee in the country. Consequently, deporting these individuals to their country would not be a wise option and must be considered on a case by case basis.

In conclusion, though the author may have a valid concern for the threats as a result of the immigrants, it is due to the lack of concrete evidence and data, that it becomes difficult to evaluate the argument. Also, due to aforementioned reasons and without supporting evidence and examples where other such counties facing the same issue have improved after deporting the immigrants, one is left under the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence, and hence fails to deliver.