The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the memo to the president of HobCo, Inc., by New Ventures Consulting, seems to recommend Southeaster Grilldon as the site for the next HobCo Hobby Shop, the memo fails to mention several key factors and underlying information without which the author’s argument is difficult to substantiate. The conclusion put forth relies on assumptions which are rather weak, unconvincing and have several flaws and hence need to be examined much more closely.

Firstly, the argument claims that 88% of those who responded indicated that they welcomed the opening of the hobby store, but it fails to answer fundamental questions about the demographic of the responders, which shall have a direct impact on the success of the shop. The argument also fails to mention the exact rubric of the poll, as to what were the other options presented to the responders in the poll. For example, if the poll presented only two options for either building a hobby store or not, it is highly plausible that the responder would not have minded the presence of a hobby store. But had the poll included other options such as the choice of the launch of a shopping center or a library in comparison to the hobby shop, there could have been a very different result, which could give us a better understanding of the implications of opening a hobby shop. Hence, a detailed representative survey with sufficient choices along with the demographics of the responders must be carried out to yield powerful insights into the decision.

The memo also states that during the last decade, there has been an increase by 300 percent in the hobby business, but it fails to take into the account the accretion of other businesses concurrently. For instance, it may have been very much possible that the entertainment industry has grown at a tremendous pace of over a 1000 percent over the last decade and therefore the growth of the hobby business in comparison is trivial. For this reason, the argument should have also included details of the growth of other business, both in the same industry vertical and outside.

Another glaring flaw in the argument is that the author relies on the success of the proposed hobby shop due to a large population of retirees. This is an example of highly defective reasoning to equate the success of the shop with the presence of retirees. It is highly possible that the retirees may have no inclination to pursue such hobbies and may prefer other recreational activities. Therefore, this reasoning does not have any weight and is highly stereotypical.

In conclusion, it may be possible that Southeastern Grilldon may offer a friendly environment for the launch of a hobby shop, but the arguments put forth by the memo have inconsistencies, and there have been a lot of questions that need to be answered before undertaking the launch of the shop. Without supporting evidence and examples where other such businesses have performed well in Grilldon, one is left under the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence, and hence fails to deliver.