As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this day and age of the twenty-first century. we are surrounded by all sorts of technological innovations which we often take for granted. We often fail to realize the role played by these utilitarian devices and the drastic change in the quality of life afforded by these innovations. Just less than a century ago, all of these innovations would be unthinkable and their impact unknown. Right from out smartphones which are ubiquitous and have connected us to the invention of the internet which has made us acquire knowledge at the click of a button - all this has certainly made our lives easier. People now do not need to worry about less important issues, as they have already been addressed by technology, and can focus their attention on much more meaningful tasks. Therefore, even though people rely more and more on technology, the ability of humans to think shall not deteriorate but technology shall offer more time and freedom to explore much more important tasks.

Every day we wake up and make our coffee using the coffee machine, have a shower with hot water heated by the geyser, wear clean clothes washed by the washing machine and drive to work in a car with an auto-breaking system to make our ride safer. All of these technological innovations help us to save time and prompt us to focus our jobs and be more productive in our work. Hence, with the increased productivity and effective utilization of both our time and mental resources, we can lead a stress-free life. For example, consider an intelligent scientist who is working to cure Cancer and is very close to coming up with a solution. It is only reasonable that the scientist should focus on the task at hand and not on inconsequential tasks which can easily be taken care of by our technological innovations. Hence, again in this case, we see, that the technological innovations have not hindered the ability of the scientist, and in the bigger picture - the people, but have actually helped us to think clearer.

Furthermore, consider the invention of the aeroplane which again has made our lives so much simpler. We are now able to travel from one part of the world to another and hence get more and more work done. Things which were not available in one part of the world are now easily available due to flight and this is really advantageous. Has the ability of humans to think gone down? Certainly not!

On the other hand, one may argue that because of these very technological advancements, the majority of people have become lazy and think less for themselves. This is certainly an assumption and cannot be taken as the sole truth. Though it is plausible that there may have been some individuals who have become lazy because of the comforts afforded by technology, there have been many others who have utilized the power of technology to solve impactful problems. With every good thing, there are always two sides to it - a good and a bad, and anything in excess is bad. Just as someone once aptly remarked that with great power comes great responsibility, we must again exercise our sound judgement and only use these technological innovations to aid us in performing even greater tasks.

In conclusion, we must realize that though technological innovations have indeed become increasingly commonplace in our lives to help us solve problems, we cannot generalize and make conclusions that the ability of humans to think for themselves shall weaken. As seen in the aforementioned examples, humans can certainly use technology to solve problems and then be able to work on further research to solve problems plaguing humanity. It is just a cycle which shall continue and hence help humanity achieve true progress in all spheres of life.