A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits.

Citing a recent national survey the vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries concludes here that reducing the time employees spend on personal and recreational activities will increase productivity and improve overall profits. However, argument relies on a series of unproven assumptions and is therefore unconvincing as it stands.

To begin with, the argument assumes that employees of Climpson Industries waste time on internet on company computers based on a recent national survey. The survey does not give any information on what business sectors were covered in survey and which sector employees wasted most time on company computer. Perhaps it could be, employees in Climpson Industries spent least amount of time for personal use on company computers. To support the argument the survey should be done specifically for employees of Climpson industries.

Even if the employees on Climpson Industries spend time on company computers on personal use it is unfair to assume that it would result in reduced productivity and decrease profits. It is entirely possible that employees spending some time of their work for recreational use on company computers relieves them of stress and improves their productivity.

The argument assumes that using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities but limiting the use of company computers through electronic monitoring for office work only might lead employees to use their smart phones to access internet for personal use and leave implementation of these measures as futile.

The argument claims that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits. Here the recommendation from vice president doesn’t suggest how monitoring the employees will improve employee’s productivity and time usability. From all what we know that is employees could be spending much of the time in canteen, playing computer games which doesn’t require internet or playing games on their mobile phones. There are no measures or actions listed in recommendation if a employee spends too much time on company computer on personal use.

The overall profits of the company might depend on variety of factors so it cannot be assumed that implementing VP’s recommendation would improve overall profits. Implementing of monitoring software could affect company profits in a negative manner as it would require considerable amount of initial setup investment and in future would require expenditure for regular IT maintenance.

In sum, the argument is a dubious one that relies on series of unproven assumptions. We can conclude that the recommendation from Vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries to company president has many fallacies in it and should not be approved without proper statistical study on company employees wasting time on company computer and what measures could be taken to improve their productivity.