Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Whether a critical judgement for work can only be given by an expert depends on the type and complexity of the work. Nevertheless an expert will always be able to assess a work in a better manner than any other individual who is unaware of the complexities of the work.

It is well known that an expert in a given field will have the technical know-how of the field. In his experience in that field of work he/she would have learnt, developed and studied many kinds of the works. If he does a critical judgement for a work he will do justice to it. For instance the symphonies composed by Beethoven are widely accepted as magnum opus but it might not appeal to a person who doesn’t have ear for music.

An expert has an eye for small changes, differences and faults in a work. He/she can appreciate it and find any discrepancies if there are. Expert can suggest implications of a work and its usability. For example many scientific discoveries may seem trivial but has large applicability in real world, such as the Viscous force in liquids being a scientific concept may seem of less interest to a person who is not having a scientific background but an expert will consider it as a breakthrough

Although in some fields like art, food and areas which affect the general public directly critical judgement from a layman could be useful as they are the people who are experiencing it. But this could be considered as a statistic which helps an expert in that field to assess and improve on it. General public can tell their experience with a work but cannot make critical judgement on it as they don’t know the complexities it. For example in cellular phones the user doesn’t know how the phone works but shares his experience with developer, the developer make changes to suit the end customer.

Finally we can conclude that even if a work affects the general public who doesn’t have knowledge of the work, they cannot pass critical judgement on it. Only an expert who has in depth knowledge of that field can assess it properly.