A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author from the report states that the new captain Seafood restaurant which specializes in seafood will be both popular and successful. The author refers to the increase in seafood consumption in the past 5 years by 30% and also the nationwide survey that two-income families eat fewer home cooked meals. However before the conclusion is drawn the following arguments must be taken into account.

Firstly, the report states about the nationwide survey that says that most of the two income families eat fewer home cooked meals. The survey could be biased without taking into consideration people of all age groups. There is a general trend that millennials eat fewer home-cooked food whereas middle aged and elderly eat more home cooked food. Perhaps the survey was more actively participated by the millennial generation and hence is not an accurate representation of the population in general. If the above issue is true then the assumption of basic assumption is wrong

Secondly, We don't know what proportion of two income families ate restaurant food 10 years back. The report is based on the fact that people are eating less compared to what they ate ten years back. Maybe ten years back the number of two income customers was less and now given the circumstances might be more than the past but not enough to make a profit. It also doesn't take into consideration the effects of inflation on the supply and demand side of the market. If the mentioned issue is true then the report does not hold ground.

Lastly, There is no guarantee that the attitudes of people from Bay city are the same as that of the nation in general. Maybe the people of the bay area are more health conscious than the nation in general. Maybe they would prefer home made food over the food from the restaurant. In this is true the profitability and popularity of the Captain Seafood hotel can take a hit.

In conclusion the argument as it stands now is deeply flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions and inherent bias. If the author is able to answer all the above questions with more evidence( scientific and systematic surveys , models followed by other competitors), then it is possible to fully validate the viability of the proposal the report has proposed.