A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

The author states that the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be popular and profitable and to cite the evidence he mentions the increased consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants . Moreover , he states that people living there are two -income families and eat fewer home-cooked foods but have an urge for healthy eating . However , The author does not provide convincing evidence, the evidence he provides cannot be related with each other.

To consider the evidence provided by the author , the following questions should be answered .

Firstly , is it only seafood whose consumption has increased? The author does not provide any data of other food’s consumption. It can be the case that in recent five years there has been an increase in all types of food consumption as people eat fewer home cooked foods. A comparative chart showing increased consumption of seafood and decreased consumption of other food would be needed.

Secondly, Is the seafood consumed more by the locals ? the author forgets to mention the type of customer who enjoys seafood. Author does present the evidence of people eating fewer home cooked foods, but has no evidence of whether they like seafood or not.If it is the case that the sea food is consumed more by tourists and visitors and the city is experiencing more tourists .In such cases the evidence presented by author to relate the success of Caption seafood with the eating habit of the locals doesn't seem convincing.

Thirdly , The increased seafood intake does not necessarily means the restaurant specialized in sea food should be popular , the quality of the food , service time , ambience of the restaurant , the price of the food are the various factors that determines the number of consumers , only if the restaurant offers good service at the low price than the previously serving restaurants, then the restaurant could make profit .

In conclusion , the evidence the author presented is insufficient to predict the success of the new restaurant because of the above mentioned question .