A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave. Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

While it may be true that highest risk occupations, such as construction, show the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leaves, but the study conducted is actually questionable and not sufficient enough for the hypothesis. There are many assumptions taken into consideration while stating the hypothesis.

First, the study conducted by the Centre for Disease Control and Prevention seems quite accurate, but it does not state on how many people the study was conducted. It doesn’t specify how many paid sick leaves and how many un-paid sick leaves were taken into consideration for the same. As a result of which even the slightest change in the amount of candidates can drastically change the results.

Secondly, it even fails to specify on what industry or organisation the study was conducted. It is possible that the study was done on a corporate industry where there is very less risk as compared to the construction site. No mention of whether the employees were on-site or off-site like the accounts department of the construction. Hence the researchers’ statement regarding high risk job seems to be a mere assumption.

Additionally, it lacks the information of what post the employee was in that organisation. The employee could be just a normal worker, who has to work on the field and face the risks or he could even be the manager or the project head, who just has to make sure his sub-ordinates carry out their tasks properly and hence facing no risk at all.

Lastly, the most important part where in the paid leaves and unpaid leaves differ the most is the salary of the employee. If we consider an employee who is a normal worker with low salary which itself doesn’t help him survive the particular month then the paid sick leave pays an important role. But, on the other side of the coin, an employee who is on a greater post and has good salary so he can afford a couple of unpaid leaves.

The basic idea of the study is for the betterment of the employees with low salary and who have a need for paid sick leaves but, it lacks several points which taken into accordance can lead to great success in the hypothesis done by the researchers and hence will not just rife of some assumptions and loopholes.