School should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

This topic raises the controversial issue that whether schools should also prepare students for the non academic aspects of adulthood. Once we enter the Professional world it not only tests us on our academic skills but our non academic skills as well, hence I totally disagree that schools should focus only on the academic part of an individual.

Our school subjects prepare us with the required academic skills to enter into the professional world. But non-academic skills such as communication skills, presentation skills are also equally important. A company looks for individual who is able to speak to customers, who is able to present a presentation confidently to the panel, who is aware of how to speak in a particular environment. At the end of the day howsoever great your content would be , you should be confident enough to convince others regarding the same. Many students especially introverts when they enter the professional environment find it difficult to open up with others.

Communications skills play an extremely important role in our day to day life. We speak to many people be it professional or personal. We have to take many decisions every single day. Some people might say that now-a-days the more academically stable you are in your domain the more you be successful. Let’s consider a digital marketing executive working for xyz company. He is well aware and thorough of his product but the catch is whether he will be able to convince the audience for the same. And that’s where our non-academic skills come to picture. If the executive had known how to convince people and how speak and present his product confidently then definitely he would be successful in his task.

In conclusion, our schools, the way they are preparing us academically to enter into the professional world. Similarly, should help us in gaining these non-academic skills which are essential for our adulthood. Since Schools lay up the foundation an individual’s growth.