A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author argument that first borns monkeys and humans produces high level of cortisol in simulating situations on an assumption that first time mother monkey had higher level of cortisol that did those who has several offspring. Stated in this way, author has manipulated certain facts which provide us with misguided agrument. In the absense of validity of these facts, the argument by author is seriously flawed and unconvincing.

First of all, the assumption that higher level of cortisol are attributed to specifically to first born is slightly misguided, there are possibility of having other parameters, which author has not considered and attribute to the higher level of cortisol hormones. For example, first born siblings in case of monkeys or humans, have to experience every thing first hand. Also, when compared to their younger siblings, obviously their brains are more developed and react in better way. Clearly, until we understand the variation between the age group, on which this study was conducted, we cannot treat the argument as credible.

Secondly, other assumption used is about the hormone level of first time mother having higher level of cortisol hormones

This assumption is not credible, as we do not know, what part the cortisol level play, in terms of pregnancy. For instance, The very excitement of being mother can be contributed, and there are chances, that these hormones subsided after some time of pregnancy. Obviously, we can related that level of cortison harmones can be contributed to the animated state of the body and cannot be termed as herdiatery unless claimed by other studies. Thus, the assumption that level of cortison harmones in first time pregnancy does not stand on any solid ground and therefore unconvincing.

To make argument more convincing, we need to answer few questions first like what was the level of cortison harmones in the first borns of varing age group, when they undergone the similar simulating environment. Secondly, Is there is a possibility that pregnant mother can trigger higher level of cortison harmones in their child during child birth.

Without having answers to these questions, assumptions remain unconvincing and misguided. It would be far fetch to generalize that first borns monkeys or human have higher level of cortisol hormones as the support provided for this need additional justification.