Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The author states that Scandals bring focus on the problems which cannot be done in efficient way by any reformer or by any speaker. Hence, should be treated as bane to the society. I partly agree with the writer, as they do bring our attention to the problem of the society in an instant, that sometimes no other social worker or a reformer can, even after spreading the awareness of the problem for long time. But we should not treat Scandals with positive note because sometimes the scandals can impact out image of society in a negative way, front of other societies and can thus bring shame on nation itself.

Having agreed that scandals can bring certain problems in limelight, they can trigger a nationwide impact and raise awareness. This awareness sometimes can bring constructive impact on people or the society as whole. For instance, a novel by Khalid Husseini "Thousand splendid Sun", raised a scandal with the contents of the book by elaborating the abuse done on women in general, How they were raped, sold off. Even though the novel created a huge uproar, but society was even more aware about the women abuse, and how new motion got strength against women abuse. Here, we should acknowledge that prior to this novel, there was a plethora of NGO and activist working to raise the awareness about the same, but they were not as successful as the scandal. We should here emphasis that this scandal eventually strengthens the motion that these activists started.

On the other hand, there are scandals, which bring whole society to shame and put the whole nation in a bad light in front of the whole world. To elaborate my point, consider one of the scandal, recently emerged in media, when one Government official was caught red handed taking bribe from one of the industrialist. This government official was representing the environmental awareness in WHO, who can be seen thrashing industrialist and other government for neglecting their part in saving environment. This scandal left a huge impact on the government, apart from the worldwide shame that nation received was nothing compared to the economic impact on the Nation, as WHO decided to levy a fine and closed their funding. My point is to emphasis on the fact, that scandal can sometimes tarnish the whole image of the society and should not be dealt with light hands.

In conclusion, I would argue that even though scandals sometimes bring an impact of positive awareness on the society. They do sometimes strengthen the position of the reformers, by supporting a noble cause. They should not be treated as usefulness for the society. Scandal can impact the society in unpredictable way, and sometimes also bring shame to an individual, society or even to the whole nation. Henceforth, without knowing the impacts of the scandal, we should never treat the scandals as some necessity or boon to the society.