A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring

Findings in the study has suggested that when provided with stimulating environment, monkey babies exhibited produced twice as much cortisol which typically primes the body for increased activity level. The article also suggests that similar behavior were present in human babies as well. However, before we can arrive at the conclusion whether these conclusions are valid its critical to see some of other parallel hypothesis which could weaken this one and could suggest other wise.

First off, the article suggests that study was conducted on 18 monkeys. This seems to be very small numbers and any statistician would argue that phenomenon observed here might not be statistically significant. So, if our of 18 monkey 5 were subjected to stimulating environment it can not be generalized that similar behavior would be observed on all of them. Also, the article does not mention if other conditions were kept neutral. E.g. how does a baby monkey respond to a stimulant also depends on mother's health, genetic predisposition, location, weather etc. The very fact that whether its mother's first child or subsequent impacts cortisol level further strengthens this doubt.

Also, this article does not clarify if the experiment tried differentiating between causality and correlation. Just because we have seen some phenomenon does not mean we know the cause of it as well. E.g. if we look at a sample of data it could suggest that every time I wear a red shirt there is tsunami in southern coast of India, that does not mean my wearing the red shirt is causing it. It simply means that given the sampled data there seems to be correlation between 2 events. Similarly its critical to find why would level of cortisol increase if a baby is subjected to stimulating environment.

Lastly, the article suggested these experiments were conducted on monkey and similar behavior was observed on human babies as well. However, we know for the fact that there are significant difference between species and its critical to assess the possibility that the experimental findings might not have same level of impact on all the sister species. There could be multiple factors which could further aleviate or deteriorate the impacts. The article does not address that

In conclusion its critical to do a more thorough analysis to better understand this complex behavior. Living being's biochemistry is fairly complex process and before arriving at any conclusion a detailed study of all the external factors such as environment, pre existing conditions, genetic desposition etc should be taken into account