"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can ın plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument states that stimulation in human beings in various cases depend upon the birth order. While the conclusion might seem resoulte but the expanation given to support the claim is not sound and also can be easily quesstioned.

first of all, the experiment is done with only with 18 rhesus monkey, just by looking at the response of the 18 monkeys, and generalizing the same case in human beings does not seems relevant. if the experiment was done once, then it is hard to rely on the result because for any research result to be approved as true, the experiment has to be perfomed numbers of time. if only the writer had mention the numbers time of repition of the experiment, then the conclusion could hold some water.

Second, the writer states that stimulation in human is also the same as the monkey. human beings are evloved beings. As compare to other creature their neurological development is high. so to jump into conclusion that human respond in the same way as the money does not sound convencing. what if the same experiment was to be done in human and the result is not the same? so to draw analogy with human, experiments done with the human children would be more appropriate.

Finally, the writer states during the pregnancy, the first time mother monkey produce more cortisol than the other monkey who already had offspring. what number of the monkeys among 18 were pregnant? How many had off springs? what number of the monkey were first born moneky? if answer to these questioned were given then the experiment could be more elucide and meaningful. so more infromation about the experiment is needed to jump into the implication. also,

In summary, as explained above, the writer seems to jump hastily into conclusion and to come to this conclusion more informations about research and experiment with the human spices is also needed. only then the conclusio can be validate.