A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower tooth decay than children living in suburban areas of United States, given the fact that, the people in United States gets the professional care of dentist at least 1.25 times a year, where in Nepal there is very less focus on professional care. Thus according to the author the timely dental care is not effective in preventing the tooth decay. It is not as simple as the author had depicted, there can be many reason behind the healthy tooth of children from Nepal. Their food consumption, the outer environment, the personal care of tooth might affect the decay of tooth.

The first reason, the eating habits and quality of food differ largely by country. As Nepal is a country in Himalayas, the food availibility and quality will have huge distiction. I have reason to believe that the Nepal might have less inclination towards the fastfood, due to poor infrastructure and connectiviy as compare to United States. The quality of food also affect the tooth life, as in Nepal they might not be using much of artificial pesticides and fertilizers, as compare to their use in United States. Higher use of more cultivating artificial breeds might affecting the decay. In addition, the environment and culture of Nepal is different from that of environment of United States, which have entire band of different tempretures. The tempreture, air quality might have slight effect on tooth decay, if so it should give different results on the suburban areas of Winconsin and than of Texas or California.

Another part which is missing is, the author was sound in comparing the suburban areas of Unites States with the country on Nepal, but before coming to the conclusion, they should do they same survey on urbam areas. If the conditions of urban areas is same as suburbs, then it is become essential to compare it with other countries. If the urban areas have little problem with tooth decay, then there must be an issue with quality of service provided but the dentist in suburban areas.

Moreover, the personal care of the tooth is more imortant then the the yearly professional visit. It might be reason that The people in Nepal follow some special care of tooth as part of their ritual or daily practice. The record that shows daily tooth care in United States is vital before coming to conclusion, as the fast life in United States might preventing the people from taking regular daily care of their tooth, which is plausible.

Lastly, the author had gave the reasoning, just for the childern and based on that took opinion for entire population. The childeren might have very different care of tooth then that of an adult or elder and children are more prone to neglect the regular care of tooth, so comparing the children, we can not take decision for entire population.

In a nutshell, the author's opinion misses some very important and vital informations for conclude any opinion, based on the facts given the author is not able to back his stand with sufficient facts. Before getting the facts, we can not conclude that dental care is not helpful.