A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The author claims that the people of the Himalayas do not receive any professional dental

help for tooth decay, on the contrary the citizens of the United States of America visit the

dentist on an average, 1.25 times a year. However, the citizens in the USA show higher

levels of tooth decay than to those living in the Himalayas. The author finally claims that

regular dental care is not helpful to protect teeth against decay, however the author fails to

persuade me with the claims being made.

There exists only a mention of ‘professional’ help not being provided to the Himalayans in

relation to dental care for tooth decay, it may then leave oneself seem to wonder if the

people of the Himalayas are being treated for tooth decay with some local methodologies.

Ayurveda may be one such source of local treatment being provided to the locals. The

author mentions that the citizens of the USA only, on an average visit the dentist 1.25 times

a year, which in comparison to the 365 days present in the year, do not account to a lot.

Hence why his comments on regular dental care being useless to prevent tooth decay seem

unpersuasive.

The author also mentions how the locals of Himalaya experience lower levels of tooth decay

in comparison to the people of the USA, which may also mean that a larger amount of

people in the Himalayas experience tooth decay to a lower level, while a smaller amount of

people in the USA experience tooth decay but on a larger adverse level. The diet of those

living in these two different parts of the world may differ massively, resulting in tooth decay

for some while stronger teeth for the other. The Himalayas are known for their adverse

conditions, life in these adverse conditions could well and truly result in strong immunity of

the people living here against tooth decay.

Regular dental care however, can prove to be a contributing factor in maintaining the overall

health of one’s teeth. Regular check ups being done by the people of the USA may prove

helpful in the long run. However, the authors claim on how regular dental check-ups are not

helpful in preventing tooth decay may not be backed up with suitable evidence making it

unlikely for it to be considered.