A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The author's argument is lacking originality. though it is true that the fact he has shown is not entirely wrong,yet without any further proof, we cannot rely on this arguments saying. He is comparing two different regions dental condition without comparing the different variables that's affecting the dental condition.

Firstly, the author needs to give enough information about the environment condition of these two regions, if they have same environmental condition or not. The temperature in Himalayan mountain region in Nepal will be very low comparing to suburban areas in the United States. this will have an enormous effect on dental condition. what if, high temperature causes higher damage in tooth. In that case the author's argument is not valid.

Secondly, The main reason that causes damage to the tooth is eating food. What if the children of the Himalayan are eating hygienic food which are not harmful for tooth, and the children of USA are eating otherwise. In this case, there is a higher probability of tooth decay for those who lives in USA .This will weaken the argument presented by the author.

Finally, The author is arguing that the Himalayan children are receiving very little to no professional care. We cannot totally rely on this. May be the children of the Himalayan are receiving dental care from some dentists who doesn't hold any professional degree, yet they are very effective. This also weaken the argument the author is providing.

In the conclusion, I would say, without knowing the information of the effect of environment, food habits we cannot just decide that the regular dental care is not effective.