A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that Sherwood Hospital should establish an adopt-a-dog program together with Sherwood Animal Shelter. This argument is supported by the two reasons. First, it can benefits their patients because a report shows that people who own pets have healthier lives and longer life expectancy. Second, the program will encourage people to adopt pets from shelter. However, the claim is based on several unwarranted assumptions needed to be clarified.

To begin with, this argument assumes that the case in the study report obtain in all other cases. While we don’t know how the study is conducted, we cannot overgeneralize the situation to all people. For example, people who adopt pets may occupied in higher social level, that is, they have better medical resources or better life quality. Consequently, they are easier to achieve longer and healthier life. Only by knowing the detail of the study, we can make a proper judgement whether the result can be applied to other people.

Secondly, the author presumes that adopting pets will not pose a threat to the people who already have heart disease. Since the study may be done in the group of healthy people, we cannot preclude the deleterious effect to specific group of people. For example, the germ or the waste produced by pets may deteriorate the condition of patients. If it is true, the proposal not only may not reach its goal but actually get the counterproductive effect. In short, only by elucidate the effect of keeping pets, we can ensure the success of the proposal.

And, instituting the shelter may not increase the possibility that people adopt pets. There is no direct link between founding shelter and adopting pets. To be specific, people may lack of information about the shelter; or they may just be indifferent to the stray-pet; or they may devoid of leisure time to adopt a new pet. In this sense, the shelter probably will not increase the population that owns pets, and hence the incidence of heat disease of general population may not decrease.

In sum, the claim of the author is founded on unclear assumptions. It is essential to know the detail of the study, evaluate other effect of feeding pets, and the reaction of people for the shelter to attain the final decision.