A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is extracted from a recent study of comparison of pet owners and owners who own no pets in terms of age and health. The author suggests that Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. He mentions that average life and health of owners who own pets is high and dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. Although the given evidences from a study is true, author is too quick to assume that dog adoption is major panacea of heart disease; he failed to analyze the specific details about the possibility of adoption to all the people. Due to the incomplete analysis and unwarranted assumption the suggestion made by author is dubitable.

To begin with, author assumes that adopting dog to every house is possible. The assumption, however, is groundless because he failed to study about the possibility of adoption of dog to all household. Due to this incomplete study about adoption of dog to all household the evidence came from the analysis is incomplete hence the conclusion is invalid. They need to study further about the possibility of adoption of dog to all the household before implementing the suggestion. Perhaps, Sherwood animal shelter cannot dogs to all the household so author should analyze this carefully. If without careful study, they implemented the suggestion expected result may not possible and the conclusion will be invalid.

In addition, author assumes that all the people love the dog as a pet to adopt in their home. This assumption is unwarranted because they failed to analyze the choice of people before suggesting dog adoption program. They should survey about the people’s interests about the adoption of dog before making suggestion to form suggestion between health institute and animal shelter. People may not like the dog to adopt as a pet, they may like cat or rat. So without careful and complete study they should not suggest about the partnership. If such study is not done, the conclusion will be invalid and its implementation will be failed.

Moreover, the author assumes that adoption of dog will surely reduce the heart disease based on some study. This assumption is baseless because they have not studied in large number. Many people including children and older people fear with the dog and its barking; which may led to increase the heart disease. So the author must study about the effect of adoption of dog in large number before making the suggestion else the implications of the suggestion may not be efficacious.

In summation, the stated/unstated assumptions mentioned above tells that the given argument is dubitable and its conclusion will be invalid because of incomplete study.