A recently issued twenty year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin a medicine used to treat headaches Al

Some health experts anticipate a reduction in the number of headaches among dwellers of Mentia thanks to the salutary effect of salicylate, which is contained in food and is planned to be added in even greater amounts. They have come to this prediction based on the study that had shown a correlation between increasing commercial use of salicylate and a permanently declining number of headaches reported by test subjects. However, the conclusion drawn by the experts, as it currently stands, rests on several unwarranted assumptions that render it invalid. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

First of all, what was the scope of the study? It is possible that the study has been conducted on only a few people; the reaction of the human body to salicylate may vary depending on one’s age, weight, or health status. For example, if the study group consisted of several test subjects from one age group, the results of such a study not always can be applied to other age groups. In other words, the organism of children may react to this chemical in a completely different way than that of aged people. If this is the case, then those who conducted the study should expand its scale, taking into account all of the categories of people. Doing so could significantly increase the credibility of the argument and provide more substantial evidence that this drug affects different people in the same way.

Secondly, if someone abused the consumption of salicylate, what side effects would occur? Probably the test subjects were under the supervision and were not allowed to overuse this chemical. However, when salicylate is added to foods in large quantities, and people start to consume such foods excessively, the outcome may be unpredictable. Further, in such cases, this chemical may appear to be noxious, exacerbating the headache instead of ameliorating the pain. If the above scenario proves true, then the author's conclusion that thanks to salicylate residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headaches in the future does not hold water.

Finally, would dwellers of Mentia afford foods with salicylate if the price of them were high? There is the possibility that foods that contain this chemical may be costly, and the majority of residents of Mentia could not buy them. Consequently, the amounts spent on the production of such food may not justify itself, and production may stop. If so, the number of reported headaches could not be decreased because people would not consume salicylate, and the conclusion drawn by the author is greatly weakened.

To conclude, while the experts may have come to a sound conclusion regarding the reduction of the number of headaches among the residents of Milenia, more data is needed before a firm conclusion is reached. If the author answers the above three questions, it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.