"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. This difference in pest damage is best explained by the negligence of Fly-Away."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

According to the vice president of the company, the differnce in pest damage in two warehouse can reflect the negligence of Fly-Away, one of the pest control company. There are, in fact, different explanations regarding the calculation of damage, the judge of effectivity, as well as the condition in different warehouse to interpret that fact.

To begin with, there are a few alternative explanations for the fact that the worth of the damaged food in Palm is greater than that in Wintervale. According to the argument, the warehouse which is serviced by the Fly-Away conpany, was discovered that over 20 thousand dollars worth of food destroyed by pest damage; in the contrast, another warehouse served by another company only witnessed 10 thousand dollars damage . However, it is possible that the food store in these two cities are differnet. For example, if the food in Palm is far more expensive than that in Wintervale, the worth of food destroied in Palm will be greater even if Fly-Away are more dedicated in pest control. Therefore, we need more information regarding the type of food in two warehouses to exclude the alternative explanation mentioned above.

In addition to the value of the food in two warehouse, we also need to exam the rival explanations for the observed phenomenon about the difference in the worth of damaged food. Even if the value of the food is the same in two warehouse, we also need to know the total amount of the food. It is probable that there are a plethora of food in Palm but there are only 10,000 dollors worth of the food in Wintervale. If this is the case, the percentage of destroyed food related to Fly-Away is smaller than Buzzoff, indicating that Buzzoff is less effective in pest control.

Finally, even if the total amount and value of food in two cities are similar, it is still possible that the condition in two cities are quite different, leading to diversified difficulties faced by the two company. For example, if the pest in Palm is difficult to be elimated by pesticide, while the pest in Wintervale is easy to manage. Under such circumstance, it is hard for Fly-Away to manage as supreme as Buzzoff. Given the different condition, it is not safe to conclude that Fly-Away is neglacted. Therefore, we need to investigate whether the pest in Palm is hard to eliminate before we ascribe the large loss of food to the negligence of Fly-Away.

In conclusion, it is understandable that the president want to evaluate the service provided by the new pest control company. But we still need more information to find out whether the alternative explanation is true before we make judgement.