"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. This difference in pest damage is best explained by the negligence of Fly-Away."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the performance of Buzz-off pest Control Company is better than Fly-away Company due to the fact only 10,000 worth of foods has destroyed during last month. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored questions need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that the author compared two different cities for pest control services by two companies. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether location and climate could have effects on pest control. One point that should be considered is that climate condition could have a negative effect on pest control since pest like to grow in wetter and moisture climate, there is a possibility that Palm City is located in a wet location and Winterville is located in a dry place. So, in this case, pest control would be harder to control and the amount of foods spoilage will increase drastically.

Furthermore, the author holds the view that the amount of foods destroyed by Buzz off Company were fewer than foods destroyed in Palm city. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if destroyed foods could determine the superiority of the company. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author does not provide any information about workers in both companies whether they are dexterous or not. Maybe workers in the Buzz off company worked better during last month and workers in Palm City were not cautious enough to work properly. Moreover, there is not enough information and data about various months due to the fact that it is not reliable to trust a company just by the result of a month.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author foods are stored in different cities and the amount of foods damaged is different as well. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if two cities stored foods in the same way, for a determined period of time. One point that should not go unnoticed is that maybe foods stored at Palm city are for previous years and they have been damaged for a long time, remained in the store. In this way, it is crystal clear that the amount of foods destroyed In the Palm City is more than Winterville, which there is a possibility that less damaged foods have been stored.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.