A resident of Coburn sent the following letter to the editor:

"I strongly object to the proposed placement of walking trails in Coburn. Although the

trails will use land that belongs to the railroads, it is land that adjoining neighbors are

accustomed to using for their own purposes. In addition, it is clear that people bent on

nefarious purposes such as robbery will be able to use the trails to access the houses

that back onto that land. Walking trails that steal land and protect criminals have no

place in Coburn."

Critique the reasoning used in the argument presented above by examining

assumptions, assessing evidence, or suggesting ways to make the argument stronger or

easier to evaluate

The criticism cited by the citizen is based on flawed and based on a number of assumptions they are:

Firstly, the author of the letter claims walking trails will use the land that belongs to the rail road but it does not explain how the land will be used. Is the walking trains built alongside the rail road? or it built on the top of the rail road? And also it does not explain how the safety of the citizens is accounted for when they use the rail roads for walking trails. What is the frequency of trains visit on the track? Will the roads be blocked when the trains are incoming? If the author had mentioned all of these cases then it would have made a great case than the merits and demerits can be evaluated clearly.

Secondly, the author mentions although the walking trails will use land that belongs to the railroads, its the land that adjoining neighbours are accustomed to using for their own purposes but fails to mention what are the activities that are carried out on the adjoining neighbours on the land. Can't the work performed by the adjoining neighbouring get shifted to another place? What are the implications of the if the work get shifted to another place? If the author mentions the reason and the type of activity performed then it would further make easier to evaluate the argument.

Thirdly, the author mentions nefarious activity is currently carried out in area of rail roads and the development of walking trails will create easy access to the houses that back onto the land but fails to add any statistics to it. What is the current crime rate in the area? If high is the arrangement of police in the area? Can't the current security be more advanced and make it tighter to protect the houses from burglary.

If the following questions are answered, it will further strengthen the topic.