Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Art is a form of expression and creativity, during ancient times art was given primary importance. Artist were praised by kings and were called to create beautiful palaces, the great Taj Mahal is a great example of the importance of art during the ancient time. But as science and technology has dominated the modern civilisation, people have pivoted and less and fewer people practice art which has caused a decline in arts as there is less scope and local artist find themselves to sustain themselves as they don't have a steady income. Thus, personally I agree with the fact fundings are important for arts to flourish but the involvement of government to fund arts is something which can have an adverse effects and threaten the integrity of arts.

The most important point that needs to be addressed when government is funding arts is: How is the fund going to be distributed? In a vast multi cultural country like India where each region has their own culture and their own art form. How will the government art form to support. It is difficult for the government to decide how to distribute the available funding? For example lets compare the art forms of two states Maharastra and Gujarat, If the government decides to fund the art of Gujarat the artist of Maharastra will not have any support. In addition to it the artist in Maharastra will adopt the works of Gujarat as they get to earn more money. Thus, this defeats the purpose of Government funding.

Instead of funding the government can give a platform for all the artist to showcase thier art and promote them. The local government can set up meetups where the government can urge citizens to engage with the local artist and learn about the various art forms practiced in their region. This will not only help the artist to make a living but also appreciate them which is far more important for an artist. The other problem faced is lack of ignorance of art due to globalisation and digitization, the government can also promote arts by including a rigorous art curriculum for students which will help to inclucate a sense of national pride for local arts.