To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving there after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a musical format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of WWAC radio station asseverates in the memorandum that the content of the WWAC ration station should gravitate towards the news and talk format in order to accommodate more listeners’ interests and to check the decline in listener numbers. Although the supposition made by the author seems ostensibly appealing, the soundness of the argument cannot be entirely established without provision of several specific pieces of evidence.

First and foremost, the manager claims that although the population growth has been observed in the listening area of WWAC, we do not know, yet, how much the newly added population would account for the total number of the entire population. Provided that the ratio of new residents to original settlers is small, then altering the content of the radio program might not be efficacious in bringing up the number of listeners since the new residents might not constitute a huge portion of the residents inhabiting the area. Knowing that there are new residents moving to the area is not informative until we know further the proportion of the total number.

Another aspect worth discussing is that the manager asserts that a decrease in local sales of recorded music insinuates that the residents in the area are growing less interested in music; however, such a claim warrants no foolproof validity since the causality and the correlation between the two phenomena are certainly mixed and obfuscated. No evidence is presented to uphold that it is indeed the lack of interest in music contributes to the decline in the sale of recorded music. Provided that such evidence were offered, then the author’s argument might be strengthened since we could indeed ascribe the wane in the sale of recorded music to the tepid interests in music shown by the residents. However, if the lack of interests in music can be attributed to other causes, such as the increased purchase price in recorded music or people beginning to listen to music digitally in lieu of purchasing recorded music, then, the believability of the argument might be compromised.

The largest leap in the argument that requires more evidence for justification is that the manager of the radio station observes that a new and talk format has been gaining currency in the area, and therefore WWAC should include such a format; however, concrete evidence is missing pertinent to who the audience is tuning in to listen to the news and talk program. Perhaps the majority of the listeners are original residents who are wont to such program format offered by other radio stations. If this is the case, then the original listeners are less bent on switching to WWAC. Perhaps another plausible scenario is that the new residents are not in favor of the new format, and since, according to the manager of WWAC, the radio station is attempting to make listeners of those new residents, this shift towards a new program format might not be relished by the new audience. Therefore, the manager of the WWAC radio station should supply more detailed evidence regarding who listens to the news and talk format so as to determine whether their potential audience group and the current listeners of the new program format match.

All told, although the manager of WWAC radio station illustrates the exigency of switching the program format to the increasingly popular kind, which is the news and talk format, so as to reverse the delicate in listener numbers, the validity of his supposition might be weakened, given that several important pieces of evidence to yoke his arguments are missing. Had the author been more specific in his argument pertinent to, the portion of the new residents that WWAC is targeting at among the entire population, the root cause of the reduced interest in recorded music in residents and the population that is currently tuning in to the popular news and talk format, that would have earned him some credence.