To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.

In this argument, the first report’s claim that students’ cheating is on the rise is highly doubtful, because there are not any specific evidence to support this claim. Second, the Groveton College said they have successfully improving the students cheating number by adopting an honor code is also doubtful, due to no considering some possibility. Finally, the arguer make the poor connection between Groveton College and other schools.

To begin with, the validity of sampling methodology conducted at recent report is doubtful. Because this report fails to offer a specific evidence to support the assumption, people cannot know what kind of students and how many students attend the survey. This may be true that the ratio of cheating to no cheating students is high, but it is difficult to say that all students’ cheating trend is on the rise. It is possible that these students who attending survey have cheating habit. Therefore, if not offer the specific evidence, the validity of survey is doubtful.

Besides, based on the factor that reducing cheating after adopting an honor code, the editor infers that adopting an honor code should be responsible for reducing cheating. However, the sequence of these events does not suffice to prove that school adopt honor code caused the reducing students cheating. It might have resulted from some other events instead: easier examination or high quality of education to just a few possibility. Therefore, the reducing cheating could not totally result from the adopting honor code. Without ruling out scenarios such as these, the editor cannot establish a cause-and-effect relationship between reducing students cheating and adopting honor code.

Further, even though it is true that Groveton College has successfully reduce student cheating after adopting an honor code, the arguer’s recommendation relies on what might be a poor analogy between Groveton College and all schools. However, it is entirely possible that the level of students, examination criteria is different. So, it is hardly to copy the methods of Groveton College to other schools. In short, without accounting for such possible differences between Groveton College and others, the arguer cannot prove that other schools will reap the similar benefits from proposed methods.

In conclusion, the report should provide more specific evidence to support that the rate of cheating students is on the rise. Second, Groveton College must ruling out some possibility to ensure a more reasonable assumption. Finally, some possible differences between Groveton College and other schools have to consider to create more cogent recommendation.