The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager attributes their loss in listeners to their radio to the effete trend of music, and he suggest that they would get more subscribers if they change to other genres, such as news and talks. However, evidence are wanting before reaching to such assertion.

While the manager inplied that the decreasing subscribers are only due to the music is less popular, when claiming that total population are growing. However, they lost their interest is only one possibility, while the shrinkage amout of people using radios is a more realistic explaination. Becuase the rapid development of television and computer and they are much more attractive to most of the people, many previous listeners changed from using radio to using computer games, therefore, the argument would be weakened if this evidence are found.

The second place demanding evidence is the preference of the new retired residents, who contribute mostly the growth population, becuase managers want to get their subscribtion. The manager tried to justify that they did not enjoy music by pointing out the dropping sale of local music records, but the causality is untenable becuase people may just download must online instead of purchasing it at the stores. If there are further evidence suggests that those new residents prefer music more than news and talks, then the argument would would be more unsound.

Lastly, we still need further investigation on the toall effect of changing the type of WWAC, as they will loss some subscribtions from music lovers meanwhile get some additional listener who like talk or news. As the change in listeners are contute by those two parts if the loss is outweighted by the gain from the changing to news and talk, the argument is weaken then. On contrary, if there are reports stating that the new subscribers is much more than those who will no longer listen to this radio due to switching to talk and news, the argument is augmented.

In conclusion, there are still need more evidence on at least three aspects, and the conclusion drawn without valid evidence would be untenable.