The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station. To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The number of listeners of WWAC radio station has declined drastically, to counter this problem the radio station thinks to change it’s current music format which is rock-music. The population of listeners has lowered even after an increase in population in the area and the radio is thinking to broadcast music tailored to the taste of these new residents who are shifting here after retirement. The sales of recorded music has taken a step back suggesting loss of interest in music therefore the radio station will be shifting to a new format that will be news and talk which is even nowadays trending.

The decrease in sales of music records and less number of people listening to WWAC radio station can be a consequence of not regularly updating the songs and sticking to old genres such as rock and metal which are currently not very popular among the youth. The population of the area is increasing due to the new residents who are retired people as they will not be inclined to listen to music that has more of hard percussions or metal instruments involved. Therefore more soothing and calm music will help in increasing the amount of listeners. According to a survey conducted by various radio stations playing the latest top songs in the noon to evening time and then slowly shifting to famous old songs in the night has proved to keep a good amount of music lovers stick to the radio channel throughout the day. The radio station should shift to playing new genre songs replacing the hard rock one and the “old is gold” playlist in the night.

The new generation is not only listening to songs on the radio but even getting adapted to consume content such as news, podcasts and talk shows. Most of the radio station nowadays try to add a flavour of funny elements in between the songs that not only keeps the interest of the listener to them but even make them aware about day to day news. WWAC radio station is shifting to news and talk format keeping in regard that is more famous in their area but completely shifting to these two formats will make radio channel monotonous for most of the people as the X factor that music provides will be lost. The radio should rather adopt a hybrid way where talk shows and news can be presented in a fun and casual way squeezed between songs. This trick is adopted by 90% of the radio stations worldwide keeping listeners sticked to a particular channel. This way the radio will be offering vast variety of entertainment to a user in multiple ways.

The decision of changing the music style and shifting to other different ways is going to raise the user metric bars high for the WWAC as music is one of the most important key factor in uplifting a users mood, if the radio can target the correct sentiments in the music genre, the listeners face will get lighten up by a smile making them love the songs and hence bringing more fame to the radio station. The talk shows can be a great medium for residents who are retired to share their life journey and whatever difficulties they have faced in their lives. This can boost the moral of a young generation individual to perform well in his work or studies to enjoy a luxurious and happy life in his 50s. Broadcasting news can help the local people get aware about local happening in the town and upcoming festive gatherings. It can even help in broadcasting the daily rates of petrol, diesel and natural gas.

This step of WWAC radio station is going to play a major role in it’s growth if implemented correctly by properly researching and understanding user sentiments and updating the fashion of playing music, news and podcasts following the trends as more of informative material or casual talk can make a user switch to another radio station. Hence a proper blend of all the ways is very important to make the radio station successful in the upcoming years.