Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Man is a social animal. His need for social affiliation arises from a variety of unproclaimed reasons. The reason may be self-less or a motive enhancing his status. Presently, this world is in desperate need of altruistic people. Besides, humanity should stand above all. Every person should instill upon himself, a responsibility towards the society.

The Pleasantville school board has taken a very good initiative to start a credit completion course of community service for graduation. This will require students to spend at least 40 hours for social work, in other words, helping people.

Charity begins at home. Teaching young children the importance of humanity is the first step towards an altruistic future. They should learn to sympathize with others and help them where ever possible. This will not only make the helper feel positive, but also, it will have a great and positive impact on the 'friend in need'. This will open all the barricades between people worldwide and irrespective of the religion, race or sex, against all prejudices; people will take a step towards helping each other, towards a better future. School plays the most important role in shaping a child’s future. If the school is encouraging community service, it is a win-win situation for all. This will advertise generosity.

Though,this is a fortunate step towards community service, adolescence plays a very crucial role in determining the likes of an individual. Teenagers often demur from such activities as they are more inclined towards having fun with peers, ultimately longing for social affiliation. At this age, maximum changes in an individual are observed. This attitude and mind set discourages them from serving the society, serving the community. Also, some parents who are extremely concerned about their wards’ career, pan this as a waste of time.

The foundation of any building should be strong and the same goes for every child. The moral values inculcated in a child, play an important role in shaping his future. Thus, taking liberty in such a situation, the school has introduced a credit program so that maximum students can reach out and serve the community. This empowers humanity. Every school, college, workplace and house, should take the initiative of helping others. This will eventually prove the, otherwise questioned,existence of humanity in the present generation.