Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary.

In this argument the writer is predicting whether new electricity generating plants are required to be built. In supporting this statement the author asserts that according to recent surveys, home owners are eager to conserve energy. Hence based on this mere survey, the manufacturing companies are producing and marketing products that may suffice and meet the growing demands of the consumer market. Products like refrigerators, air conditioners, and new technologies for home insulation and solar heating in response to the contingent demand suggested by the survey. As a result the overall demand of electricity will reduce and hence new electric generating plants are not required, according to author. This conclusion certainly has many flaws.

Firstly, the survey is conducted on what number of people is a question. Even if the the survey is conducted on large number of people, do they even use electrical devices that cause high consumption of energy is a question.Author also states that the respondents are eager to conserve energy. While it can be done by using energy efficient devices, but is is certainly possible that they are willing to reduce their usage on their current appliances. Author also doesn't state the place where the survey is conducted, It may be possible the survey is conducted on one part of a country but that may not be applicable to the other part.Hence the author must be resolute about the consumer covered and the place where it is applicable.

Secondly,the author does not take into account the possible increase into population of homeowners or industry is a big flaw in the assertion.Even if the consumption of energy is reduced by half, the population may increase three fold! Considering the industries that have heavy machinery running on high consumption of electrical energy, the author doesn't state companies manufacturing energy efficient industry grade machines and only mentions consumer electronics. It is generally these big industries that require huge amounts of energy. Hence author must mention any advancement in industry grade machines that are energy efficient.

Thirdly, the author posits about new innovation in insulation and solar heating that are energy efficient. But is it even applicable to the place surveyed? What purpose does innovation in solar heating serve in warm places like Dubai? Even if it serves the purpose pertaining to the place no one is going to use it everyday.It would strengthen the author argument if he mentions the place and environment taken into consideration for the purpose.

In sum, the argument has many flaws pertaining mainly to the scope and resolution of the data collected.The argument of author would be bolstered by proofs that tells us more about the kind of people surveyed,the place from where the people belong,their specific interest into buying that product,and most importantly the industries that may incur a huge consumption of energy.