"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

In this argument, the author claims that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. The author's reasoning does not entirely support his premise, and he adds irrelevant information that does not support his claim as well. He also creates confusion in the reader's minds as he does not clearly state basic information about the claim. Therefore, the author's argument can be considered flawed and incomplete.

To begin, the author's first two pieces of evidence do not support the claim sufficiently. He states that manufacturers are marketing more energy efficient appliances and that new technology has reduced the energy needed for home heating. These statements do not support the claim that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy because they fail to refer to the actual home owners. Instead, the author gives information on how the manufacturers and new technologies are energy efficient. It is never mentioned that the home owners actually buy and incorporate these energy conserving appliances into their homes. If the author wants to correctly support his claim, he should include how these new discoveries in conserving energy are used by the home owners.

Also, the author conclusion that states that "the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly" is not supported by any previous evidence in the argument. Although the conclusion does support the premise, it becomes confusing to the reader because no facts are given that lead to this particular conclusion. Also, I find it very opaque that the author states about the electricity demand in his "area." After reading that statement, I begin to wonder where he is basing his argument off of. Is it in America? Is it in a different country? Since the author does not specify where he is basing this argument from, the reader becomes confused after reading the conclusion. To improve upon this issue, the author should give more specifics of where he is conducting this argument from in order to eliminate any confusion. He should also make sure that his evidence supports both his premise and conclusion.

Finally, the author adds an unrelated statement to the end of his argument. After stating his conclusion, the author adds that, "Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary." This statement has nothing to do with the premise of the argument. Therefore, the author should completely eradicate this part of the argument.

In conclusion, the author makes many errors in his reasoning of the claim that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. The author should make sure that his supporting evidence has relevance to his claim. He should also eliminate the unnecessary statement at the end of his argument. Lastly, the author should make sure his argument is very clear about what area the claim is being made about. This argument is extremely flawed; and therefore, it should be considered unsubstantial.