Democracy is when the indigent, and not the men of property, are the rulers.

Democracy is a type of government where the people govern. America, for example, is a representative democracy meaning the people elect representatives to the government to carry out the wishes of the people. Throughout history, there have been many debates over who rules in a democracy. Some say that the rich and upper social class rule, while others say that the indigent rule. It is my belief that the indigent are the ultimate rulers in a democracy.

To begin, most of a nation's population is made up of the middle, working class when compared to the rich social class. If a democracy is to function properly, the nation needs to be represented fairly, and the indigent population make up the majority of a population. Therefore, I believe that if a democracy is to function the way it was invented to, the indigent need to be given more leadership positions in the government. Although some may say that the rich rule, since they are typically better educated, I believe that the indigent population rule and make better decisions due to the fact that they make up the majority of the population.

Moving on, I believe that the indigent are the rulers in the democracy because they experience first hand the problems and issues in everyday life. The rich, upper class may not realize these issues because they are fortunate enough to bypass the hardships because of their wealth. For example, it is common for wealthy people to send their children to private schools while the not as wealthy have to send their children to public, government run schools. The children who go to the private schools tend to receive a better education than the children attending the public schools. In the democratic government, if the wealthy ruled, they would not address the lack of certain educational funding to the public schools as much as if the middle class ruled. I believe that since the indigent rule, many common issues are able to be resolved.

Finally, if the rich ruled the democratic government, many of the lower social classes will develop a hatred towards the government and possibly rebel. Throughout history, we can see examples of this happening. The Revolutionary War resulted from the English colonies rebelling against the British government due to their mistreatment. Since England is a monarchy, the upper class ruled and did not listen to the colonies' complaints and issues. This ignoring of the colonies ended up causing a revolution. I believe that this is a reason that democracy is ruled by the indigent. America learned from being under the leadership of the British monarchy that the rich should not rule in a democracy. The founding fathers set up a democracy ruled by the indigent in order to create a successful society.

In conclusion, I believe that the indigent do indeed rule in a democracy because they better represent the entire population. Throughout history, it can be seen how the rich are not fit to rule because they fail to uphold the lower social classes' issues. Democracy is characterized by the common people ruling together.