“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the petition sent to the residents of Youngtown states that the Smith Corporation should not be able to develop land that is part of a wildlife preserve. The petition makes many unreliable assumptions about the effects the company will have on the preserve as well as the bird population that brings in tourists. These assumptions vilify the corporation, making it seem like they could only bring harm when it is possible that they could benefit the area.

One of the biggest assumptions within this petition is that the corporation is going to have a rippling effect throughout the preserve, although it is a small portion of land that the corporation will be using to build a small hotel. If the corporation ensures the preservation of the sanctuary, a small hotel could possibly have a positive effect on the community. The petition provides no evidence that the hotel would cause any damage to the sanctuary. Other than the small area that is going to be used for it, it is not apparent that any damage could occur to the wildlife preserve. Without any evidence of the effects of small businesses on nearby wildlife, it is irresponsible to make such claims.

The author of the petition then goes on to state that the community relies on tourists that visit to see the vast bird population. The petition quickly assumes that the small hotel that the corporation plans on building won't benefit the tourists that come to see the bird population. If the community relies on these tourists, a small hotel would give them another place to stay while they are in the area. It is possible that this would lead to an increase in tourists. The increase in tourists will inevitably benefit the economy by increasing the profits brought in by the travelers that the community depends on to flourish.

The petition assumes that the building of this hotel will have a negative effect on the 300 bird species that live in the area. Given the importance that the community places on the preserve, the influx of tourists and money into the community could create funds to improve the sanctuary. The influx of money could be used to keep up the sanctuary, pay employees to clean the area and take care of the birds, or even the cost of wildlife specialists that could give their opinion on how to create a better environment for the birds as well as take care of them. Although it may take a piece of land from the sanctuary

The author of this petition makes many assumptions about the effects that the Smith Corporation will have on the community. It is quite possible that the building of the small hotel could benefit the community much more than harm it. The corporation could improve the economy by bringing jobs to the hotel, as well as causing an increase in tourists. Although it may seem bad that a small piece of the wildlife preserve is sold to a corporation, there shouldn't be assumptions made about the effects on the wildlife without any evidence. The evidence might prove that the corporation will cause the community to flourish like never before