An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Patients have many rights when it comes to the medical care that they receive. They have the right to choose any healthcare provider that they want, the right to privacy under any circumstance, and the right to submit to care or not. In addition to these rights, the patients should have access to their doctor's record of treating similarly ill patients. In doing so, the patient will have a better idea of the competency level of their doctor. This will have many direct benefits for all parties involved, proving it to be necessary.

As stated before, patients have the right to choose any healthcare provider that they see fit, under any circumstances. If the patients do not have easy access to the doctor's treatment record of similar illnesses, they would have no idea of who they are choosing to care for them. If the patient does not have this access, it would clearly be violating their right to know and choose their healthcare provider. Some might argue that doing this would violate the previous patients' rights to privacy. However, giving patients access to this information could easily be done without leaking any personal information about previous patients.

Giving patients access to their doctor's treatment records would greatly benefit the patient in more ways than one. It is not uncommon that patients have many ongoing issues that go unresolved. Patients of doctors who treat patients who experience the same unsolvable issues might feel that the doctor is incompetent in resolving said illness. This may or may not be true; However, the patients should have the right to know because their health and well-being are on the line. It very well may be that going to a different doctor would improve the patient's way of life if not save it.

One might argue that just because the doctor doesn't commonly treat an illness commonly, doesn't mean that he or she won't be successful. This is completely true. However, an inexperienced doctor is statistically not going to be able to treat the struggling patient as efficiently as an experienced doctor. Not only should the patient have access to the amount of times that the doctor has treated their ailment, but they should be able to see the success rate of the treatments. In doing so, the patient will have the ability to decide whether or not they believe that the doctor will do a fine job. Doing so may take away business, but also might bring some. Just like everyone else, doctors have strengths and weaknesses of all kinds. Just because they lack in one area, doesn't mean they won't be strong in another.

Given all of the rights that patients have in the medical field, it is clear that easy access to the doctor's treatment records should be one. Medical care is often expensive, and patients should know what exactly they are paying for. Not only is it their right, but it could very well save their lives. Not only would it benefit the patient, but it might increase business for doctors. Although one medical provider might not have a strength in certain issues, he or she might be extremely experienced in other ailments. It seems clear that allowing patients to easily access their doctor's treatment records would benefit all, proving it to be necessary to implement.