In a study of the movie watching preferences of citizens of filmopolis conducted by the film and television institute, most respondents said that they preferred to watch action movies. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the videos most frequently rented from filmopolis video stores and libraries were animated children's movies. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their movie preferences.

At first glance, the passage seems convincing, but going further one can say that the passage is rife with holes and assumptions. Now these assumptions, if not justified, will render the conclusion baseless.

To begin with, the author should have provided the readers with a proper number of people that were surveyed the first time by the film and television institute. The word 'Most' fails to inspire within us the confidence to just the liking about movies of the whole city. It can be the case that the majority of people interviewed by the film and television institute be of an age group between 17-30 who generally tend to like action movies more.

To add to the assumptions, the author has shown a bold side by assuming that the first study was wrong and the citizens of filmopolis love to watch children's animated movies more than action movies solely on the observation that the video stores in the city have sold more copies of animated movies than action movies. It can be the case that the film and television institute have surveyed video stores and movie libraries from locations where schools, play grounds, etc are in the vicinity. Thus children tend to be attracted to these stores while passing through on the streets. Also the number of stores surveyed versus the total number of stores in the city are not specified.

Furthermore, just the sales history from stores cannot be coined as sufficient data to assume that the whole city likes animated movies more. It could be that the adults have different ways to enjoys movies other than renting and watching them on their TVs l. Filmopolis could be home to a number of multiplexes and drive in theatres, where adults generally go and enjoy their favorite kind of movies. We might be able to find that the parents tend to buy animated movies for their kids from the stores, just so that the kids don't get bored at home whenever free or whenever their parents are not around.

Finally ,the number of stores surveyed versus the total number of stores in the city are not specified. This data is very important to judge the overall buying trend of the city.

Hence I feel this is an argument based on a number of baseless and bold assumptions, and thus cannot lead to the conclusions drawn by the researchers at the film and television institute.