KNOWING ABOUT THE PAST CANNOT HELP PEOPLE TO MAKE IMPORTANT DECISIONS TOMORROW
The earth, this world, is home to a population more than seven and a half billion of people. This can be translated to a notion that there can be more than seven and half billion
opinions on something. Similarly, the claim given above is such a claim in which there can't be one correct conclusion. Some people do believe that knowing about the past cannot help
people to make important decisions tomorrow. However, whatever I have known from my personal experiences till date tell me that past experiences play a very important role in our
lives. They surely do help us while making important decisions.
First, it is said that everyday is new. Everyday comes up taking new opportunities for us. Opportunities for us to advance ahead in lives, everyday is a new story, that has to be written by us on
a blank page. But one can write in the page for the day, add up to the story if he or she has some context or references about the past story. This is exactly what is known as experience.
In professional lives, past experiences can come handy in a lot a of scenarios. For instance, if you're in a management job and are stuck somewhere due to some problem with a person, you
will work your way out with some efforts. But the next time you find yourselves in a similar problem, You would be quicker to solve the problem by taking some steps much more quickly
than you did the last time. Same goes for a programmer, he finds the same same error in his code for the second time, he'll be quicker to go around it, becoause this time he will know
how to.
Furthermore, experience need not always be first hand. Experience which has flown down from somebody to you can be immense useful as well. For example, a woodcutter's peer tells him about a specific
type of a tree and how his saw broke while cutting that tree, the woodcutter will be more cautios while cutting that kind of trees from now on. There is this famous phrase in an Indian
Regional language which says we should get cautious of the pit from the person walking ahead of us.
Diary writing or maintaining a journal is a hobby which runs on the same tracks. What a diary writer is basically into is jotting down experiences from the days that have passed. This
happens in a flow, filling up pages everyday. This hobby celebrates our experiences, in which both good and bad experiences are recorded. Experiences prove to be the hints or keys that
we would need to solve problems from our daily lives. Apart from diary writing, nowadays people have also started to resort to newer ways to record their experiences. Blogging is the digitized
form of diary writing. From blogging, even vlogging has also come up. In vlogging, people record videos to save and cherish videos in further of their lives. Vlogs can be published on the internet
for other people to watch them and gain some knowledge from them.
The ways can be different, but the logic behind all these mediums stays the same. That is saving and sharing our personal experiences to be useful to us further in our lives or maybe even to
others. Hence, according to me, if knowing the past reacts in some way to how we take decisions in the future, the reaction is definitely positive, and helps making hard decisions easier for
us and also take more educated guesses if ever needed.