In a study of the movie-watching preferences of citizens of Filmopolis conducted by the Film and Television Institute,most respondents said they preferred to watch action movies.However,a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the videos most frequently rented from video stores and libraries were animated children movies.Therefore,it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misinterpreted their movie preferences.

The conclusion of the author that the respondents in the first study misinterpreted their movie preference is not essentially correct . The author's thinking is based on certain assumptions which needs to be fully justified before this conclusion can be considered valid .

Firstly , the author does not present adequate details about the study conducted by Film and Television Institute . The sample size considered for the study is unknown . It might be 100 or it might be 5 in which case the results of the study may not be relevant . Moreover , the questionnaire which might have been used in the study may contain more questions related actions movies and less questions related to other kinds of movies . In such case , the result of study will always be more inclined towards action movies.Additionally , ' more respondents ' is vague term . It does not suggest the exact number . The author should have mentioned statistical data to support his point.

Secondly , the author says that the second study conducted by the same researchers found that videos most frequently rented from video stores and libraries were animated movie children . The author does not provide any evidence that this second study was conducted in the same same region as that of first . If two studies were conducted in totally different regions , then results generated from them are not at all comparable . Furthermore , videos stores and libraries from which people have rented videos might not have many kind of movies from which customers can make choice . Most of the video stores and libraries which are included in the study may only be specialized sellers of animated children movies . Additionally , the region in which this study was conducted might include more number of children than adults . In such case results of the study might not be comparable.

Lastly , it is not mentioned by the author if sample sets used by two studies were same or different . If they are different , results of both studies may not be totally comparable . If they are somewhat overlapping then some results might be true whereas others might be false . We just do not know about it because author does not provide any evidence for samples .

In general , it can be stated that author has not provided sufficient information to prove his assertion correctly and and is based on mere assumptions made by him . To interpret it correctly , he must provide additional statistical data and details of the studies .