Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievements; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

The authors conclusion that to enable graduates of Omega University to secure better jobs, it should terminate student evaluation of professors is not supported by adequate evidences and is based on certain assumptions. Following points needs to be considered before such conclusion can be drawn.

Firstly, the author's assumption that rise in grades is only because professors wants to get good assessment results might be false. Professors may have actually started teaching more effectively. Because of such improvement, grades of students may have improved by significant numbers. Additionally, more comprehensive techniques might have been adopted by the professors so that students can grasp more knowledge. Moreover, the author mentions that overall student grade average have risen by 30 percent. The author does not provide any supporting data which substantiates that they have actually risen by 30 percent. Samples from which this data comes may only include students who have scored better grades than previous terms and not the ones who have failed or scored lower grades than previous term.

Secondly, the author mentions that Alpha University graduates have secured more jobs than Omega University graduates. Some questions must be fully answered for understanding this statement. Do Omega and Alpha University offer same courses? Is author referring to same employer in both cases? Is author comparing just one employer or overall employers? Furthermore, 'Potential employer' is vague term. It does not clearly specifies which employers are considered by the author as potential employers.

Lastly, the author assumes that after termination of professor evaluation by students, grades of students will be retained and they will be same as they were before introduction of procedure. Even after termination of procedure, some professors may continue to teach effectively. Because of this, there may not be any significant difference in overall grades of students and problem of employers may remain as it was before the termination of procedure.

Therefore, the author needs to provide more details about professors, students as well as employers and statistical data for jobs in order to strengthen his argument.